The Dark Road I Have Traveled

The Dark Road I Have Traveled

What would you say if I told you that Jesus actually went to hell?  What if I said that when Jesus died on the cross He was the first human being to be born again?  How about if I told you that Jesus stopped being the Son of God?  Would you think I was nuts if I claimed I was not a sinner?

These four, heretical statements were spoken by someone I used to follow.  I bought her books and bible studies, watched her faithfully on TV, and even taught a few of her studies in Sunday school.

I read a book* by this person that had scriptural declarations we could speak over our lives.  It sounds like a great resource!  However, when I compared them against the actual word of God, I found something disturbing.  One of the declarations claimed the Spirit of the Lord is upon us to preach the Word and set the captives free. She listed the Bible verse at the end of each declaration to show you where she got them from the Word.  This particular one was a Messianic prophecy about Jesus!  It wasn’t about us!  It was to JESUS ONLY, and in Luke 4, He quoted it, and said, “This day is this scripture fulfilled in your ears.” (Luke 4:21, NKJV)  That is blasphemy!

I have hesitated on addressing this person because it reminds me of her many false teachings that are still deeply embedded in my head.  I am still working to retrain my brain to act on biblical principles and truths instead of the lies that are so ingrained in my spirit from her teachings. Part of the reason why I am still bearing so many scars from her false teachings is because I would neglect studying the Word while studying her materials.  I disobeyed the commands in the Word to test everything and to study to show myself approved, a workman who could rightly divide the Word of truth. (1 Thessalonians 5:21; 2 Timothy 2:15)  

Many women speak of how they have been helped by listening to her.  It doesn’t matter that some of what she says is true.  We are not commanded to listen to those who share truth, mixed with lies.  Rather we are to expose them, and have nothing to do with them. (Ephesians 5:11)  We are to flee evil.  (1 Thessalonians 5:22)    

Here are some clips of her stating the heresies I mentioned in the first paragraph.

Jesus went to hell:

Jesus told the thief on the cross that “I promise that today you will be with Me in paradise.”  (Luke 23:43, CEV) Jesus told us He is the way, the truth, and the life. (John 14:6)  That being said, who do you believe is speaking the truth?

Jesus was born again:

In this one, she claims Jesus stopped being the Son of God.

Joyce Meyer claims she is not a sinner:

First, she claims to not be a sinner.  This would be the same as saying you have no sin.  1 John 1:8 says “If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.” (NKJV, emphasis added.)

If we didn’t still have that sin nature in us after getting saved, we would no longer need an Advocate.  “My little children, these things I write to you, so that you may not sin. And if anyone sins, we have an Advocate, Jesus Christ the righteous.” (1 John 2:1, NKJV)

Notice she said it was a lie from a pit of hell to think she is still a sinner.  That is blasphemy!  She is calling God’s own Word a lie from Satan!  If we believe what the book of 1 John says, Joyce says that Jesus died in vain.

Before you watch this next clip, I want to remind you what the wisdom from above looks like.  As you watch, ask yourself, “Does she display any of these traits of godly wisdom?”  

“But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy.” (James 3:17, NKJV)

Listen closely to how she twists the Word and attacks the Christians who actually know their Bible and stand on that Truth.

She says a verse is found in Leviticus 20:28, but it is actually Leviticus 19:28.  She quotes it incorrectly.  Here is what it actually says. “You shall not make any cuttings in your flesh for the dead, nor tattoo any marks on you; I am the Lord.” (NKJV)  The Interlinear Bible describes “marks” as an incision, imprint, tattoo, or mark.

She misquotes what God said in Isaiah 49:16 when she said He has tattooed our names on the palm of His hand.  “See I have inscribed you on the palms of My hands.” (NKJV)  The Interlinear Bible shows that “inscribed” means to cut upon, engrave, or inscribe.  Tattoo is not listed.

One thing prominent among false teachers is they get crowd riled up, and this video is a classic example of this.

Here is a video from Joyce Meyer Ministries, posted after Joyce got a tattoo.  In the description of the video, it says that Joyce shares her own personal belief about tattoos and other legalistic rules.  Those two comments alone are a slam against scripture. She should be speaking GOD’S WORD on the topic.  As far as the comment about legalistic rules, it is a shame she feels that way about things which God makes very clear in scripture.  It is also interesting to read the comments from this video clip.  The majority of them are not in favor of what she did or said.  One of them summed it up well.  “Morale of the story:  Know the Word for yourself.”

Finally, let’s compare Joyce’s tone and countenance to the lady in this lesson on false teachers.  The whole video is really good, but you only need to listen to the first few minutes and you will clearly see a massive difference in their spirits.

1 Timothy Lesson 18 — 11 Evil Characteristics of False Teachers:

*The book I mentioned at the beginning is titled Me and My Big Mouth.

Leave a comment