Wisdom in Perilous Times, Part 11

Wisdom in Perilous Times, Part 11

If you have been reading my devotions for any length of time, you can see my passion for pointing people toward reading the Word.  I have seen what a passion for reading, and heeding, the Word has done in my own life.  That is why I am so passionate to get others to do the same.

“He who despises the word will be destroyed, But he who fears the commandment will be rewarded.” (Proverbs 13:13, NKJV)

When you see the word “despises,” it evokes a picture of one who hates the Word or is vehemently opposed to it.  And yes, that can be true.  However, I found something else when I looked up the meaning in the Interlinear Bible.  It can also mean to “hold as insignificant.”  Ouch!

Do we choose to constantly watch Netflix or Hulu?  Do we choose other books over the Word?  What about podcasts?  How about exercise or social media?  Do we let these things crowd our lives so that suddenly, it is time for bed, and we’ve spent no time in the Word?  If so, we have despised His Word by holding it as insignificant.

I am also guilty of doing this.  Even while I have been working on this series, the Lord has been calling me to study 2 Timothy for my own reflection, yet I have failed to do so.  Lord, I repent.  I am off to do it now.

Have you despised His Word?  Repent while there is still time.

© 2022, Stacy R. Miller

Leave a comment