Slaves of Righteousness

Slaves of Righteousness

 

After being a stay-at-home mom for thirteen years, the economic situation required that I reenter the workforce. That was a major culture shock to me! Much to my dismay, I discovered that any topic was opened to discussion. I was appalled by the amount of backbiting I observed.  On top of that, gossip and negativity abounded wherever I went.

 

It is very hard to keep a positive attitude in those kinds of situations. In fact, all too often, it was too easy to join in. However, I soon realized that doing so left a very bitter taste in my spirit.

 

However, in Romans 6:15-18, it is clear that I don’t have to be a slave to sin.  Rather, I can be a slave to righteousness.  It is my choice — I can continue to join in with the gossip and negative conversations at work.  Or, I can choose to be a slave to righteousness and walk away, keeping my integrity intact.  What an encouragement to realize that I do not have to let sin reign in me!

 

© 2011, Stacy R. Miller

 

Leave a comment