Why Study Prophecy? Part 6

Why Study Prophecy?  Part 6

When I am doing a series, I normally don’t send back to back devotions because the topic is usually one that needs time for pondering and digesting.  However, in light of current events, I do feel compelled to reach out to address something, in hopes that it helps others.  

Many of us were left disheartened and appalled at the Trump verdict.  I am not writing this to support Trump or to bash him.  My point is looking at our justice system (or the lack thereof).  I have served on two juries, so I know the process.  Those processes, along with many others, were not followed.  What happened was a travesty.

The morning after the verdict, I opened my i-Pad to read the Word while eating breakfast.  I felt like I was reading a newspaper.  Therefore the law is paralyzed,  and justice never prevails. The wicked hem in the righteous, so that justice is perverted. (Habakkuk 1:4, NASB)

This isn’t the only place in scripture where we see things like this happening.  The reason I bring this up is because it shows us one more reason why it is important to study the prophecy books.  They tell us what is going to happen.  When we see them come to pass, it doesn’t cause us to stumble or lose faith because we already knew it would happen, and we know our God is in control!    This can give us a sense of peace, even when we are still disturbed by what we see.

The Wisdom [godly Wisdom, which is comprehensive insight into the ways and purposes of God] of the prudent is to understand his way, but the folly of [self-confident] fools is to deceive. (Proverbs 14:8, Amplified)  Rather than focus on the travesty we saw in the justice system last week, let’s focus on becoming wise in the Word, for it will help us view our world through the lens of scripture. God’s Word is a light for our path and that light will shine brightly even in the darkest of days!

© 2024, Stacy R. Miller

Leave a comment