Weather Forecast

Image result for peace at home

Weather Forecast

I have often said that I missed my calling.  I should have become a meteorologist.  I am fascinated with the weather patterns.  If a hurricane is headed this way, look out!  I will likely be glued to The Weather Channel every spare moment I get!

I have found that I can be a meteorologist in forecasting the climate of my home.  Although I hate to admit this, most of the time, the climate of the home is dependent upon me.

If I awaken feeling more tired than I was before I went to sleep, I can forecast that if I don’t take a little time to rest in the afternoon, there’s a ninety percent chance that a grouch will be visiting my kitchen by suppertime.

When my hormones are out of kilter, if I don’t take some time to allow God’s peace to saturate me, there is a ninety five percent chance that I will act out of my emotions rather than God’s truth.  If that happens, there is a one hundred percent chance that by the end of the day, I am going to need to ask someone in the family to forgive me for something I said.

If I allow my daughter to turn on Sponge Bob Square Pants first thing in the morning, there is an eighty percent chance that I am going to feel like somebody is jumping up and down on my last nerve.

I know that if I make the effort to rise early and immerse myself in the Word, it makes a significant impact on the climate of our home.  If I consciously call upon the Lord, voicing my utter dependence upon Him, when unexpected interruptions occur, my sense of peace and stability are less likely to be shaken.  Basking in the Son can lead me to a Son-shiny day.

What’s the forecast in your house today?

© 2005, Stacy R. Miller

Leave a Reply

