Wasted Energy

Image result for do not let your heart be troubled

Wasted Energy

Do you struggle with worry?  Do you ever get really agitated? Are you ever disturbed by something which has taken place between you and another person?  If you are like me, you can go to bed at night and continue to “play” the situation over and over in your mind.  It is hard to turn it off.  Yet, all that worry is nothing more than wasted energy.

Jesus tells us in John 14:27 to “stop allowing ourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.” (AMP)

There are a few areas where women allow themselves to be agitated and disturbed.  One is by being a people pleaser.  By trying to please everyone, we end up in emotional turmoil.  What we need to realize is that we cannot please everyone all the time.

Another situation that leads us to be disturbed is the belief that everyone has to like us.  Dear one, there is always going to be somebody who doesn’t like you.  Guess what?  That is OK!  While God loved the world so much that He sent Jesus to die for us, I am certain there are some people in this world He just doesn’t like!  Think ISIS members, Charles Manson, or even child molesters, just to name a few.

Another area that causes us to end up in distress is our failure to learn to say “no.”  Anytime I am asked to take on a commitment, if I do not immediately know what my answer should be, I will ask the person to give me time to pray about it.

I have learned to say no over the years.  It is a wonderful freedom to be able to say no, and to do so without guilt!  Recently, I was approached by a lady from church who wanted me to help with something during one of the upcoming services.  I immediately felt I was not to commit.  On the day I would have been committed to assisting her, I received a phone call from our music director, asking if I could teach her class that morning.  Had I said yes to the earlier request, I would not have been in a position to agree to teach the class when asked.

One last area I would like to address is that of disobedience.  Several months ago, I was feeling enormously stressed.  I could not understand why until I got before the Lord.  He clearly showed me that I was holding on to a place of ministry where He had not called me.  I immediately repented and stepped down from that position.  My stress level dropped immensely.

Now if this does not help you to overcome your own wasted energy of worrying, perhaps the following information will help you in making necessary changes.
© 2007, Stacy R Miller

We “live” on stress.  It is a daily part of our lives, an every-day-burden we bear.  There is actually a chemical reaction which takes place when we feel stressed.  It releases something in our body that can actually give us a “high” of sorts.  When we allow this cycle to continue over and over, it can be very destructive to our bodies, leading to:  memory loss, loss of sleep, a compromised immune system, auto immune disease, multiple sclerosis, chronic fatigue, rheumatoid arthritis, lupus, heart trouble, fibromyalgia, hypertension (high blood pressure), and cancer.

Dear sister, is it really worth your health to allow yourself to be constantly agitated and disturbed?  Ask the Lord to help you number your days and to realize how fleeting life is. (Psalm 39:4-6) Determine to set your mind on things above. (Colossians 3:1) Train your mind to think on things which are true, noble, right, pure, lovely, and praiseworthy. (Philippians 4:8)

Keep in mind that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit.  Is that how you want to treat the temple of the Living God?  When you start to worry, or get agitated and disturbed, ask yourself if the issue is really worth the toll it will take on your physical body.  I don’t know about you, but I want to be around for a long time – even if there are people who don’t like me!  (See the previous devotion if you don’t follow the humor in that last statement.)
© 2007, Stacy R Miller

Leave a Reply

