The Stalker

Image result for man stalking woman

The Stalker

Many years ago, I faced the terror of having a stalker.  I never knew when or where my stalker would appear.  I could be at work, and suddenly, I’d feel the hair on the back of my neck stand up, sensing the presence of my stalker.  It was scary when I’d get off work from the evening shift and have to walk through the parking lot after dark, never knowing if I was being watched.  I could be on a date and glance at the car in the next lane, discovering that I was being stalked again.  Since my church was just down the street from my stalker’s house, I never knew what I may find when I came out of church.

Even being at home didn’t make me feel safe because there were endless phone calls from my stalker.  I used call screening before the phone company started selling it — my parents.  I can still remember the minor panic attacks that would hit me, simply from the sound of the phone ringing.  Even several years after I had been married, the phone could ring and trigger a ‘flashback’ and I’d feel that wave of panic hit me once again.

Even worse than facing a physical stalker is the spiritual stalker.  Satan is always on the prowl, looking for a way to devour us. (I Pet. 5:8) He will try to devour us through fear, excessive debt, bitterness, wrong attitudes, food or drug addictions, and even sexual addictions, just to name a few.

We are not to be ignorant of the schemes which Satan will use against us. (II Cor. 2:11) One way to protect ourselves against him is to know the truth.  Jesus told us that if we know the truth, it will set us free. (Jn. 8:32)

Psalm 119 gives us a lot of insight on how to handle, or possibly avoid, being stalked.

1.  In Ps. 119:08 we see where God’s commands will make us wiser than our enemies.  When we hide God’s Word in our hearts, we are less likely to fall for Satan’s schemes, causing us to sin against God. (Ps. 119:11)
2.  We can run in the paths of God’s commands and find that He will set our hearts free. (Ps. 119:32) It’s in knowing God’s commands that we can run in those paths. Ps. 119:45 tells us that we can walk about in freedom if we have sought out God’s precepts.
3.  We will find that if we remember God’s precepts, they will help to preserve our life. (Ps. 119:93)
4.  With the understanding we gain from God’s Word, we will learn to recognize and hate every evil path. (Ps. 119:104)
That will help us to avoid the snare of Satan, our stalker.
5.  Ps. 119:133 tells us that as we allow God to direct us, no sin (or stalker) will rule over us.  We will find ourselves loving God’s law, and that will bring us great peace and keep us from stumbling, even if we know that we are being stalked by Satan. (Ps. 119:165)

Are you being stalked?  Start feeding yourself the truth of God’s Word and it will keep you free from the stalker’s snare.
© 2004, Stacy R Miller

Leave a Reply

