Romanced by God

Image result for romanced by god

Romanced by God
Did you husband ever sing love songs to you while you were dating?  God desires for us to sing love songs to Him, out of heart filled with love and adoration for Him.  Too many times, we may sing words, but they aren’t truly praises sung to Him.  We fall into the trap of doing it out of habit.  It’s similar to a real marriage where one spouse takes the other for granted.  God has given us so much.  Let’s be very careful not to take Him for granted.

Do you remember how the unexpected cards, flowers, or candy would just make you feel so special?  Even now, if your husband would walk in with a small gift for you, wouldn’t it just thrill your heart?  God does the same thing for us, but I think many times we take it for granted.  For example, I went shopping and found over $117 worth of items and I only paid $8 for them.  That was God showing up, giving me a gift.  A friend recently gave me a huge trash bag of clothing for Rachel.  That’s God showing up again, only He used a person to give me this gift from Him.  What about the times a friend may take you out to eat?  That is God again, wanting to bless you and show you His love.

Do you ever have times where your husband gives you a gift that literally causes your jaw to drop, leaving you speechless?  God is really good at doing the same thing.  When I figured up the value of what I bought on my shopping trip, compared to what I actually spent, my jaw dropped.  I knew it was God’s blessing.

There was another time where my heart was filled to overflowing for the blessing of the Lord.  We had just gotten possession of our house, knowing that we would have to repaint everything, not to mention buy new blinds, curtains, drapes, etc.  It seemed that the money was unending for what we needed.  Now, we aren’t wealthy by any means, if you only count wealth by financial status.  Yet, the funds continued to stretch to the point of even buying a new stove and refrigerator.  One day I was praying and thanking the Lord for His blessing.  My heart felt like it was going to burst.  I told the Lord that I wanted to do something for Him to show Him how grateful I was for His blessing.  Within minutes, my husband pulled up in a used car, asking me what I thought about purchasing the car and giving it to his mother, who was in desperate need of one.  I knew God was answering my prayer.

Do you remember going out to eat when you were dating?  You weren’t so focused on the food, but on the communication that took place while eating the food.  There are times that God’s Word becomes the “Rhema” word to us, meaning it is the “now” word for us – just what we needed to hear.  These are times when the Lover of our soul is taking us out to eat, only what we are eating is spiritual food.

Why don’t you let God take you “out to eat?”  Don’t forget to let Him make the “menu selection” for you.  You won’t be disappointed!
© 2003, Stacy R Miller

Leave a Reply

