Song of Solomon Chapter 5

Unless otherwise noted, scripture references are from the Message Bible.

Song of Songs

Chapter 5
“I was sound asleep, but in my dreams I was wide awake.  Oh, listen!  It’s the sound of my lover knocking, calling!…He’s one in a million.  There’s no one quite like him!”

Sometimes the Lord will call to us while we are dreaming.  I have had several instances where He gave me the same dream over and over until I realized that He was giving me a vision of what He wanted me to do.  Then I was able to make it a matter of prayer, just waiting on His timing in bringing it to completion.  Keep in mind — this doesn’t mean that ALL dreams are visions.  I have far more dreams that aren’t actual visions from the Lord.  For Him to get my attention, He often has to give me the same vision many times.  It’s at that point that I realize He is calling to me, even in my sleep.  Yes, I have to agree with today’s scripture — He truly is one in a million.  I find myself telling Him quite often that there is truly NO ONE like Him, no one who even begins to compare!  Sister, is He calling to you in your sleep?

In the NIV, verse 5 tells how she arose to open the door for her lover, but her fingers were covered in myrrh.  When she opened the door, her lover was gone.  There are a couple of lessons to be learned here about myrrh. First, myrrh is the fragrance of death.  It was used in embalming.  Rom. 6:23 tells us that the wages of sin is death.

When we have sin in our lives, we can ‘chase away’ our Bridegroom.  He smells that fragrance of death from our sin, and since He is holy, He won’t stay where sin is abounding.

Secondly, if we use myrrh in a way that pleases our Bridegroom, the results will be different.  Myrrh was used to purify young girls for the king’s bed.  (Est. 2:12-13) It was also used for a lover’s couch.  (Pr. 7:17) God wants us to purify our hearts, then we will have a sweet fragrance about us because we have chosen to die to our fleshly desires.  When we die to those fleshly desires, it also gives off a fragrance of death, but it’s a precious, pleasing fragrance to our Bridegroom.

She goes on to talk about her beloved.  He is “pure and untarnished…eyes like wells of water.  His words, warm and reassuring…He stands tall like a cedar, strong and deep-rooted…His words are kisses…Everything about him delights me, thrills me through and through.”

How often do you allow your Bridegroom to thrill you?  He delights to do so.  Let Him kiss you with His words.  I promise you — if you let Him do it once, you’ll be begging for more!
© 2004, Stacy R Miller

Leave a Reply

