Persistent

Persistent

One night as I watched our hamster, I thought about how persistent she is in trying to escape from her cage.  It never fails.  Every single night, as soon as she awakens, she starts seeking a way out of that cage.  When one tactic doesn’t work, she will resort to another.

It made me think about my walk with God.  Am I that persistent to seek after my Father every day?  When I go through a dry season in my devotional times, will I diligently pursue a different route to find Him?  Could I be accused of persistence when it comes to seeking my Lord?  Do I persistently spend time with Him every day?  Or, am I only persistent when my back is against the wall?

Proverbs 21:5 tells us that the plans of the diligent lead to profit.  In relation to our time with the Lord, if we are diligent in spending time with Him, it will profit us greatly in the many things that we face every day.

First Timothy 4:15 tells us to be diligent in matters pertaining to the Word of God.  The result is that others will see our spiritual progress.  Not that we should specifically seek out being godly just so that others notice, but it is refreshing when someone comments on the spiritual growth they see taking place in our lives.

In Second Timothy 3:16, we find that all scripture is useful.  If we haven’t been persistent in spending time in the Word, we need to start small.  Rather than trying to read for long periods of time, try reading for five minutes.  Since all scripture is profitable and useful to us, we will find something there that will teach us, rebuke us, correct us, or train us.  Start small and see what God will begin to teach you as you begin to be persistent about reading His Word.

© 2006, Stacy R. Miller

Leave a Reply

