Walking on Water

Walking on Water

I have always related well to Peter.  Here is a man who often speaks and acts before he thinks.  Though I hate to admit it, I am so much like him!

In Matthew 14:22-33, we find the story of when Peter walked on water.  Had I been in his shoes (or should I say ‘sandals?’), I am sure that had I would have started to doubt as those waves began to swell around me.  After all, I have always been a fearful around water.

I had my own “walk on water” experience many years ago when I was a new Christian.  I was on vacation with my parents.  I had instructed my brother to make sure that he went out and started my car at least once a day.  However, he did more than just start the car on one particular day.  He left the driver’s side door opened, then promptly popped the clutch, causing the car to lurch.  The door crashed into a tree stump, causing quite a bit of damage.  I was furious when I found out because at the time, I was only working part time.  I barely made enough to make the monthly payments on the car.  How would I pay for this?

When I went to church that weekend, I was still battling a lot of fear and anger.   Of all things, they began to sing, “The joy of the Lord is my strength.”  I was feeling anything but joyful.  I was so frustrated that the tears began to pour down my face.  I wanted to feel God’s peace and joy again, but I was just so angry!

The Lord gently spoke to me, “Am I not big enough to handle all of your problems?”  I decided to take my own “walk on water” and I waited to see how the Lord was going to work out this situation.

The very next day, my boss called me to offer me a full time position.  Within two weeks, I was driving a brand new car.  What a powerful lesson to me on overcoming doubt!

Is God calling you to walk on water?
© 2011, Stacy R. Miller

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Noelene
    Jan 20, 2016 @ 07:49:01

    What a wonderfully encouraging blog!
    Thank you.

    Reply

  2. Cross Bar G
    Jan 21, 2016 @ 15:02:28

    Isn’t it amazing how we try to worry about and control how everything works… and limit ourselves to our own abilities… when God has more than enough blessing, grace, and love for us to have everything be handled for His and our good as His children? Thank you for this encouraging reminder!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

