Ephesians 1

Ephesians 1 Amplified Bible (AMP)

17 [For I always pray to] the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, that He may grant you a spirit of wisdom and revelation [of insight into mysteries and secrets] in the [deep and intimate] knowledge of Him,

I frequently pray for God to grant me a spirit of wisdom and revelation, and even more so as we see the beginning of all things (when the Lord sets up His kingdom) drawing near.  So when I’m praying for that, I am often focused on the turbulent things we know we must face before that new beginning.  I am looking to Him for any “secrets” He wants to reveal to me regarding things to come, things I need to do to prepare, etc.

I was going through this chapter and writing in my notebook things that stood out to me.  So after this verse that I pray so often, I see this:

18 By having the eyes of your heart flooded with light, so that you can know and understand the hope to which He has called you, and how rich is His glorious inheritance in the saints (His set-apart ones),

19 And [so that you can know and understand] what is the immeasurable and unlimited and surpassing greatness of His power in and for us who believe

This verse stood out because it’s like He’s saying, “Ok, daughter, now here’s a reminder for you in the midst of the dark, turbulent times — I can still flood your heart with my light so that you remember the hope to which I have called you AND so you can remember that in the midst of the battle, you still have available to you an immeasurable, unlimited, great power because you believe.”

What an encouragement!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Arlene Harper
    Dec 20, 2015 @ 16:44:25

    Yes

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

