Power Outage

Power Outage

One day when we had a power outage, I kept finding myself trying to do things which required electricity. I’d turn on a light switch, but there was no light. I got out the sweeper, thinking I could do some cleaning, all to no avail. Finally, I decided I would do something more productive – run errands. I grab my keys and my purse, quickly heading out to the garage when I realized the garage door is operated by electricity.

I was diligently trying to connect to the power source, all to no avail. And why was I doing that? Because we are such creatures of habit! Nearly everything I do on a daily basis requires electricity. To try to break the habit, even though I knew the power was out, was very hard to do.

I saw a spiritual connection in this situation. Many times we try to connect with the Lord when our backs are against the wall. However, on a day-to-day basis, we fail to do so. To keep our spiritual power source intact, we need to be daily connecting with him, to the point that it is as automatic to us as turning on a light switch. How do we do this?

We are told in 1 Timothy 4:8 to train ourselves to be godly. For myself, there are many ways I do this, and depending on circumstances, the way I attempt my “train” myself will vary. Sometimes I feel led to do a deep study on a certain book of the Bible. Other times, I might feel like doing a study on a particular topic.

Occasionally, I need to cut things from my life – things like friendships that don’t edify. Currently, there is someone I have contact with on a daily basis. I have to interact with this individual in a professional sense several times a week. However, when this person wants to “puke” their negativity on me, I find a way to exit the scene very quickly. When I am around anyone who has a negative disposition, I feel like any positive energy in me is being sucked out, much like when you blow up a balloon, then let it go. It quickly drains me emotionally and physically.

The best way to train ourselves to be godly is to ask the Lord to help us. He is ready and waiting, and he will direct our steps if we only ask.

© 2014, Stacy R. Miller

Leave a Reply

