Overwhelmed

Overwhelmed

When I find that I am frequently feeling overwhelmed, I will take inventory of my life:
·    Have I been spending enough time in the Word?
·    Have I been getting enough sleep?
·    Have I been eating right?
·    Have I been spending enough time connecting with my husband?
·    Is it near “that time of the month?”
·    Have I been exercising?
·    Is there anything I need to cut from my life which will help lessen that “overwhelmed” feeling?
Occasionally, I will need to readjust my activities.  However, I recently had some changes that were brought about without my feeling the need to readjust.  Our computer at home recently stopped letting me access an online board that I had been a part of for many years.  At first, I really missed it.  I felt like it was my lifeline.  However, as time has passed, I realized that I didn’t miss it so much.

Granted, it is a great online community that has great value to women.  However, with my current responsibilities, I just didn’t have the time or energy to invest in the lives of the women there.  Honesty, as I would try to read some of the threads, I found that it was draining me.  I knew I had enough things in my own life which needed my undivided attention.  I just couldn’t devote any more time to an online community.

Since computer usage has always been an issue where I’ve had to be on guard, I realized that not being able to access that board was a blessing in disguise.  Since I’ve drastically cut back on my computer time, I rarely have feelings of being overwhelmed.

I share my story with you, not to place guilt on you for using the computer, or for joining an online board.   After all, there are some fantastic online communities that are a great help to others.  Rather, I share my story in case it might be a “light bulb” moment for you regarding some of your own activities.  If you are frequently feeling overwhelmed, perhaps you need to reevaluate and adjust a few things.

© 2011, Stacy R. Miller

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebecca
    Nov 20, 2015 @ 10:50:37

    There was a time not so long ago where I was just feeling overwhelmed. I was having a hard time just keeping up with normal day to day stuff (that previously wasn’t an issue) Then my son called me “laptop mommy” that was my light bulb moment. I didn’t think I was wasting time… between planning school lessons, reading devotionals, catching up with friends,etc….a lot of hours were wasted. It’s good to know I am not alone, lol! Thanks for sharing. I know this will resonate with a lot of people. ~Blessings~

    Reply

    • Proverbs 31 wanna-be
      Nov 20, 2015 @ 11:38:34

      Rebecca, thanks for posting a comment. I’m glad you got some encouragement from my own struggle. And though I wrote this devotion over 4 years ago, it IS still a struggle for me. When I feel drained, one of the first things I will look at is how much time I’ve been online. Though it used to be reading devotionals, connecting with other home school moms, etc., now my interest is independent news websites. Too much of that will quickly take you to a gloom and doom mentality! With the extra stresses I have in my life now, I’ve really had to cut back. It does make a huge difference.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

