My Sheep Know My Voice

My Sheep Know My Voice

I was facing a situation where I knew I needed to call a couple of wise, godly friends and ask for their counsel on an issue.  What they said confirmed the action I was thinking of taking, so I planned to follow through quickly.  However, later that day, as I began to dust the furniture, I heard that still, small voice of the Lord.  Though what He said was spoken very softly, the impression on my spirit was incredibly strong.  He told me not to take action; He would take care of it.  I was amazed when the entire situation was taken care of in just a few weeks time, and with no action from me.

What my friends said all sounded very logical, yet I knew I had to listen to what the Lord was speaking to me.  It gave me a new understanding of the importance of John 10:27 where Jesus said that His sheep know His voice and will listen to Him.  There are many times when we want to follow what sounds logical.  Yet, when the Lord speaks something that doesn’t sound logical to us, we need to follow His voice.  This is even more important since I believe we are living in the last days.  There are many voices speaking things which “sound” good.  Yet, we cannot discern what is truly good unless we clearly know the voice of our Shepherd.

Do you know your Shepherd’s voice?
© 2008, Stacy R Miller

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brenda K.
    Nov 15, 2015 @ 17:27:46

    Thank you for this. I really, really needed to hear this today. I heard God’s still small voice today too and it goes against what my logic is telling me.

    Reply

  2. Proverbs 31 wanna-be
    Nov 16, 2015 @ 16:51:58

    I needed the reminder myself because I’m so angry and frustrated with a situation that I want to jump and do what I want to do to get out of it. Yet, I do not feel “released” in my spirit to do that. The Lord has told me, “Trust me, daughter, trust me,” but honestly, my flesh is screaming to go another direction.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

