Keeping Zeal in Balance

Keeping Zeal in Balance

When I first got saved, I sure was zealous to share the changes the Lord made in me!  And zeal can be a very good thing, as we see in Romans 4:18.  “It is fine to be zealous, provided the purpose is good.”

However, as I took on new responsibilities, I saw that zealous feeling begin to wane.  First, I was zealous to be the best bank teller I could be.  However, in my zeal, I grew a bitter heart toward coworkers who appeared to be lazy.

Later, when I got engaged, I was so excited and zealous to start planning my wedding.  I was busy constantly.  If I wasn’t actually busy doing something for the upcoming wedding, I was at least thinking about it, and making plans in my head.  In all of my excitement, I never allowed myself the opportunity to relax.  I soon developed a chronic case of colitis.

When zeal gets out of balance, it can wreak havoc on our bodies and our relationships.  As I have matured in my walk with the Lord, I have discovered that my zeal should be directed at the Lord — to know Christ and him crucified.  If I do that, everything else will fall into proper balance.

Let Christ be your zeal and everything else will fall into place.

© 2011, Stacy R. Miller

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tom
    Nov 05, 2015 @ 02:02:22

    Amen Stacy! Please come visit my site and give me some feedback. I look forward to hearing from you at possessedbygod.com
    Peace,
    Tom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

