Blooming in the Desert

Blooming in the Desert

It is easy to think that when we are faced with a “desert” experience that we are being spiritually assaulted by the enemy.  Yet, when we look at what happened to Jesus, we see that He was led by the Spirit into the desert. (Mark 1:12)  Of all things, this occurred after a pivotal moment when Jesus was baptized and the Spirit descended on Him like a dove.  He heard the affirming words from heaven, “This is my Son, whom I love.  I am well pleased with him.” (Mark 1:9-11)

In my own life, it seems as if I can go through what many would call a “mountain top experience.”  Yet, within a matter of days, I feel as if I’ve been thrust into the wilderness.  Why?  I believe that many times, it is because the Spirit of God has led me there to teach me some important things.

As human beings, we are given the gift of feeling emotion.  Where we go wrong is when we rely on emotions too much.  Our emotions can change many times over the course of the day.  By going through a desert experience, we can learn to live on the truth in God’s Word, rather than depending on our fluctuating emotions.  In some of my own desert times, I have learned to declare, “God, I know You are there.  I cannot feel You right now, but I thank You for the promise in Your Word that tells me You will never leave me nor forsake me.”  There is much power in proclaiming His Word, even when we don’t feel like it.  It is often during those times that suddenly, I feel His peace envelope me.  He tests me to make sure that I am learning to depend on His Word which will never fail, as opposed to depending on my feelings, which can fail me many times a day.

After Jesus went through forty days in the desert, he returned to Galilee in the power of the Spirit. (Luke 4:14)  It can be the same for us – those desert experiences can cause us to bloom.  When you face your next “desert,” determine to come out stronger on the other side.  Continue to read the Word, even if you feel as if it doesn’t sink into your spirit.  Continue to pray, though the heavens feel like brass.  If you do this, you will be able to come out of your desert in the power of the Spirit.

© 2008, Stacy R Miller

Leave a Reply

