A Model of Forgiveness

A Model of Forgiveness

Forgiveness is one of the hardest issues we can face in life because hurts and betrayals run very deep.  However, God obviously wants us to work things out; otherwise, this portion of scripture would be unnecessary.

In Matthew 18:21-35, we see where Peter assumed there should be a limit to our forgiveness. He may have thought that he was being incredibly generous by offering to forgive up to seven times.   But by doing so, he fails to see that the goal of forgiveness is to restore the relationship.

In verse 31, we discover that others are watching us when we’ve been hurt.  That scripture became a reality to me when a close family member deeply wounded me.  My daughter was with me at the time of the offense, so she saw how horrible I was treated.  Since I am one who tends to talk my way through issues I’m facing, I knew I better tread carefully on this one because she would be watching closely to see how I responded.  It was incredibly hard to keep a godly attitude through this.  I prayed and prayed and prayed some more for the Lord to help me.

How we respond to our hurts can be a reflection of how deep our spiritual roots go.  And I wanted my daughter to see deep spiritual roots in me in spite of how badly I was treated.  I wanted her to see that no matter how badly she may be treated by someone, she can choose to forgive in spite of those inflicted hurts.  It gave us many opportunities to talk about the situation.  We were able to discuss forgiveness with restoration.  We also discussed the need to forgive and set up boundaries.  We even discussed how there are times when the forgiveness is for our sake and not the sake of the offender, like in the case of physical or sexual abuse.

Depending on how we respond to those types of wounds, we can either draw others to Christ or push them away.  With the Lord’s help, we can be a godly example of forgiveness.

Lord, help me be a model of forgiveness.

© 2011, Stacy R. Miller

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vania
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 09:53:39

    Thank you for being such an encouragement from the Lord. He has blessed you with a great gift. ❤

    Reply

  2. Tom
    Nov 05, 2015 @ 02:13:24

    I, like sooo many of us, struggled with forgiveness until I realized that the Lord is in EVERYTHING because we are all a part of His plan in one way or another. Once I came to this realization I then understood that all that is being done is for His will and is therefor for the greater good. It may not feel right or good at the time but in time it will, so we simply praise Him at all times and forgiveness comes easily. How can I not forgive when He has been so forgiving to me?
    Peace,
    Tom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

