Out of My Comfort Zone

Out of My Comfort Zone

Several months ago, a lady from our church had a severe stroke.  Whenever we would get an update on how she was doing, the news was never good.  I had such a burden to pray for this lady, and the lack of good news spurred me to intercede even more for her.

Imagine my surprise when I walked into church one morning and saw her sitting there!  Later, the Lord spoke to me about the significance of her being there on that particular day.  He gently told me, “It is the first day of a New Year, and I want to remind My children that I am still a God who heals.”

I need to back up a bit to help you grasp the vital importance of what happened here.  While I had seen this lady at church for years, even sitting in the same section for years, we really did not converse much beyond the customary formalities of “Hi, how are you?”

One time I signed up to attend an in-home fellowship.  After viewing the list of who was attending, I began to feel a little uncomfortable about going.  I was not only the youngest one attending, I was the only one attending without a spouse.  In spite of my discomfort, I chose to go.  It turns out that it was one of the most memorable nights for me!

The lady who had the stroke was there.  As I listened to her stories, I saw a side of her I had never seen in a church setting.  She was hilarious!  And boy!  Could she ever tell a story!

Because I stepped out of my comfort zone, I got to know several members of the body of Christ a little better.  I started chatting with them more at church.  I felt more connected to my church family.

Had I refused to push myself out of my comfort zone, I do not believe that I would have carried such a burden to pray for this lady.  I would have missed out on being part of the miracle that took place in her life.  I also feel that I would have missed hearing the gentle voice of my Father speaking to me on that New Year’s afternoon.

We are told to bear one another’s burdens. (Galatians 6:2) What better way to bear a burden than to become an intercessor for someone?  We are told to love one another fervently. (First Peter 1:22) If we fail to take the time to get to know one another in the body of Christ, how can we love each other deeply?  We are told to rejoice with those who rejoice, and weep with those who weep. (Romans 12:15)  How can we do that if we don’t even know them?

I want to encourage you to get to know your church family outside of the church walls.  You may be amazed at what God does in your life when you get better connected with His people!

Do you need to step out of your comfort zone?

© 2006, Stacy R. Miller

Leave a Reply

