Obstacle Course

Obstacle Course

Do you ever feel like you are running an obstacle course in your walk with the Lord?  I sure have!  Isaiah 57:14 says to remove the obstacles out of the way.  I have had to do that in my own life.

I am an avid reader, but as I have grown in my walk with the Lord, I have had to change what types of books I read.  I found that if I read books that had cuss words in them, chances were high that I would end up reverting to that nasty old habit.  I quickly removed that obstacle from my course.

I have had individuals in my life who were like leeches – always sucking the life out of me.  I removed them from the obstacle course, replacing them with friends who are like iron sharpening iron. (Proverbs 27:17)

Early in my Christian walk, I was deeply convicted to remove soap operas from my course.  They certainly failed to line up with the excellent, virtuous, and praiseworthy things that I was to think upon. (Philippians 4:8)

One of the biggest obstacles in my Christian walk has been my thoughts.  I constantly have to change course, making the choice to renew my mind, rather than focusing on ungodly and unhealthy things. (Romans 12:2)

You can probably think of some obstacles on your own course that need to be removed.  Some of the obstacles may even be good things, but by removing them, it will allow you to have a more excellent course.

What obstacles can you remove today?
© 2006, Stacy R. Miller

Leave a Reply

