My Great Reward

My Great Reward

Proverbs 16:9 says that we may plan our course, but it is the Lord Who determines our steps.  I have found this to be so true in my own life.

As spring approached one year, I began to make a diligent effort to read several books on my bookcase so that when the summer reading club started at our local library, I could indulge in my love for Christian fiction.  My plan was to immerse myself in some fun and relaxing reading, in hopes to win some of the prizes in the reading club.

I also had another plan to read several books on modesty and purity, trying to gauge when I should introduce these books to my daughter.  As I began to leisurely browse these books, I found that every word needed to be savored, some even more than once.  I found myself applying the truths to my own life.  I began to ask myself questions like:
What shows do I watch that compromise purity of thought?
What magazines do I read that threaten my ability to keep my spirit pure?
What books do I have that might not cultivate a pure heart?
What words do I say that show a tainted heart, rather than a pure heart?
What attitudes do I have that show a dirty heart?
What thoughts fill my head that might hinder me from being pure in heart?

Finally, I decided it was time to read some of those fiction books.  Yet, when I started reading one by my favorite author, I noticed that I wasn’t enjoying it.  Fiction suddenly seemed so dry, boring, and lifeless to me.

In my quest to conquer my pile of books, God determined my steps.  He pulled me to a new level of personal holiness.  He determined to draw me near to His heart, bringing me to a new height of intimacy with Him.

No wonder the fiction books do not hold the appeal they once had!  How can anything compare to the King of the Universe?

As for those prizes I had hoped to win from the library, well…..I already won!  God became my exceedingly great reward! (Genesis 15:1)
© 2008, Stacy R. Miller

In case you are interested in the books I read on modesty and purity, here is the list:
And the Bride Wore White by Dannah Gresh
Secret Keeper: The Delicate Power of Modesty by Dannah Gresh
Sex is Not the Problem (Lust is) by Josh Harris
The Fruit of Her Hands by Nancy Wilson

Leave a Reply

