Mount Moriah

Mount Moriah

Have you ever been in a tight spot, needing an answer from God, yet hearing nothing?  Those times remind me of when Abraham was called to sacrifice Isaac on Mount Moriah.  It just didn’t make sense when God asked him to sacrifice this son of promise.  Yet Abraham never wavered.

Sometimes God takes us to Mount Moriah.  His goal is to increase our faith in Him.  Will we be found faithful or faithless?

I recently went through a Mount Moriah experience.  When the Lord called me to teach, teaching became my “baby.”  After all, it was birthed out of a promise He had spoken to me in a dream.  After teaching for several years, I was feeling like I needed to step down for a while, yet the Lord had not specifically told me to do so.

Some of the thoughts I wrestled with were:
·    I had been called by the Lord to teach.  That calling had not been revoked.
·    Sometimes the need is the call.  – The church clearly had a need for Sunday school teachers.
·    I kept pondering some wise advice:  “When you don’t know what to do, keep doing what you’ve been doing.”
·    If I step down, will I ever teach again?
·    Will I lose my passion for teaching?

I knew I needed to submit my class information to the church secretary within a week.  To say I was really feeling the pressure at this point would be an understatement.  Still, I had not received a clear word from the Lord.  I finally decided that I would type up the information for the church secretary early the following week.

On Sunday morning, I headed out to church.  Before I left the morning service, God clearly spoke to me – not once, but three times!  And He did it through three different people!  Each time, it confirmed that I was to step down from teaching.  I accepted His words with joy and felt tremendous relief in knowing that I finally had the answer for which I had been searching.

While I couldn’t understand the “why” of needing to step down, God knew.  Within two weeks of stepping down, He led me in an entirely new area of teaching — one which was going to require a great amount of time and preparation.  Had I kept teaching, I would not have been able to devote the time necessary to study for this new class.

I am so glad I listened to Him, even though at the time, it just didn’t make sense to me.  This new study has been on Bible history and I have found it absolutely fascinating.  Just talk to some of my closest friends.  They will quickly tell you that my excitement over Bible history just gushes forth.  Bless their hearts – I am so glad they still put up with me!  I keep telling the Lord to be sure to reward them good for bearing with me in this journey.

So, when God takes you to your own Mount Moriah, obey Him even when it doesn’t make sense.  Sister, I believe you will be amazed at what happens on your Mount Moriah.
© 2007, Stacy R Miller

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Emily Couture
    Aug 30, 2015 @ 01:41:39

    Great post, wonderful testimony. It’s amazing how many times God is calling me to do something and I don’t realize He was until after I (finally) listen. And He always provides without fail.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

