Leftovers

Leftovers

Whenever I mention to my husband that we are having leftovers for supper, I can count on hearing a disappointed, “Oh,” coming from him.  It never brings excitement to him to think of eating leftovers.  I’m much better off if I just try to use some creativity to make the meal appear as if it’s not leftovers.

In Christian circles, we often hear that we can’t live off of yesterday’s anointing.  In other words, we can’t eat spiritual ‘leftovers’ and still expect to thrive in our walk with the Lord.

In reading the book of Ruth, I noticed that Ruth ate all she wanted and had some leftover. (2:14) It occurred to me that God wants us to come and eat of His Word, getting ourselves so full of His Word that we have some ‘leftovers’ to give out to those around us.

Our ‘leftovers’ might be seen as being patient instead of going into a temper tantrum when things aren’t going our way, showing compassion instead of indifference, sacrificing rather than being selfish, giving discipline to our children rather than punishing them, doing devotions with the kids rather than letting the TV baby-sit them.  It could be shown in being submissive as opposed to insubordinate, granting grace instead of nagging, listening instead of being so quick to speak.

Do you have any ‘leftovers’ to offer those around you?
© 2004, Stacy R Miller

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Arlene Harper
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 01:05:55

    Timely read for me. I have been struggling with pain lately so I am not as patient as I should be. Blessings to you.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

