Joy

Joy

As busy wives and mothers, we tend to neglect taking care of ourselves.  We get so caught up in the needs of our family and the myriad of things to do each day that we literally get lost in the shuffle.  You’ve probably even had the famous acrostic running through your head,  “JOY stands for Jesus, others, and yourself.”  Keeping yourself at the end of the list, you may wonder, “When do I get to do something for me?”

The Son of God had to take time for Himself.  He’d go off to a mountain to pray.  Sometimes you would find Him at Mary and Martha’s house, enjoying food and fellowship.  He even had times when He simply hung out with the guys.  Once He was so tired that He took a nap on a boat during a terrible storm.

Jesus knew there were times when He needed to refresh His spirit, His soul, and His body.  If the Son of God needed to do these things, why would we be any different?  We must take care of our spirit and nourish it with God’s Word.  We need to nourish our souls, which could come from reading a book or getting together with a good friend.  We also need to take time to nourish our bodies through things like a refreshing soak in the tub or even a midday nap.


When I was growing up, I had a friend who used the word “you’uns.”  She would often say, “What are you’uns doing this weekend?”  I decided that her word would work great as an acrostic.  I think “JOY” should be
Jesus,
Ourselves, and
You’uns.

Sisters, it’s time we take some time for ourselves and experience some of God’s joy for us!

© 2005, Stacy R. Miller

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cross Bar G
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 02:41:42

    Beautiful message! Thank you for the encouragement to do things for myself— and that it is OK to do. Sometimes I feel I am being selfish as I go for a walk just to have some peace and quiet… but I know I need that time for prayer and to enhance my intimate relationship with my Father and Savior. God Bless!

    Reply

  2. Proverbs 31 wanna-be
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 17:32:26

    Thanks for your kind words. I’m glad you were encouraged by what I wrote.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

