Job Training

Job Training

Years ago when I was hired by the phone company as a service representative, I went through the company’s intense nine week training program.  The course was so difficult that at least thirty percent of those who start it would never complete it.  If they had put me at a desk without proper training, I wouldn’t have known how to answer any of the questions asked of me.  I also wouldn’t have been able to assist those who wanted an extension on paying their bill, nor could I assist those who needed to set up new phone service or a transfer of service to a new residence.  Only as I was diligent to get that training deeply imbedded, was I able to assist and instruct my customers.

As Christians, we are supposed to let the Word have its home in our hearts and minds.  The Word of God is to dwell in us richly. Only as we get the Word deep inside us are we able to fulfill the commands to admonish, teach, train, and encourage on another. (I Thessalonians 5:11; Colossians 3:16)

On my job, I needed to be thoroughly equipped to handle the myriad of requests that customers had over the course of a day.  Every day finds us facing new challenges and new requests of people.  We need to be confident that we have taken the time for correct training so that we handle these situations correctly.  God’s Word is our training manual – useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training in righteousness so that we are thoroughly equipped.

As wives, mothers, and Christian women, we are constantly being called on for help.  It may be in dealing with a discipline issue, or it might be in how to help a sister whose husband has been unfaithful.  It may be in how to help our husband during a stressful time at work.  We must daily set priorities for the things on our to-do list.  If we haven’t been getting proper ‘job training’ from the Word, we will easily be led astray by our emotions, rather than responding the way God desires.  Our priorities will be out of kilter, and our flesh will rule our day, rather than our spirit.

Do you need more job training?
© 2005, Stacy R. Miller

Leave a Reply

