Intimidated by the Virtuous Woman

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Intimidated by the Virtuous Woman

Do you ever feel intimidated by the virtuous woman in Proverbs 31?  I sure have!  She was the model of perfection.

I remember going through a time when I couldn’t seem to do anything right.  I went to cut off a pair of Rachel’s pants to make Capri’s out of them.  I cut the same leg twice!

Another time I got really energetic and was trying to do some in-depth cleaning.  In my haste to get as much accomplished before my energy level dropped, I used the wrong cleaner on a door and ruined the finish.  Shortly thereafter, I ruined our evening meal.

Everything within me was screaming, “YOU ARE A FAILURE!”  I had to stop and tell myself the truth.  While Rachel was not going to have Capri’s from that one pair of pants, she was able to have a pair of shorts.

So maybe the finish on the door was ruined, but that is something which can easily be corrected.  Plus, I looked at all of the other things I accomplished that day.  I wasn’t a failure!  Actually, I was quite productive!

I ruined one meal out of how many?  In other words, that meal was a failure, not me.

Now back to that virtuous woman….She may appear to be the model of perfection.  In reality, she had mastered being perfect as our Father is perfect. (Matthew 5:48) In this verse, “perfect” means mature.  The virtuous woman learned not to let mistakes master her.  She learned what she could from them, and that is what made her perfect.

Instead of being intimidated by her example, we need to follow her example.
© 2008, Stacy R. Miller

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dragonfly
    May 20, 2015 @ 13:52:15

    This is beautiful. I’ve only recently felt a little bit of the sting of jealousy of that amazing Proverbs 31 woman, I usually never feel it, and certainly not over her. But you are right that it comes when we feel like we are failing in something or overall as a mother or wife. For me it hit me when I felt like I just couldn’t juggle creating clothes, taking care of my newborn and 4 year old, manage the household, do all the cooking & run all the errands, etc. It took me realizing I was trying to base my self-worth on my performance as a business woman, mother and wife, instead of finding it in the peace of God.

    We will never be perfect, and unfortunately, I’m a perfectionist… so learning how to fail at things, or at pleasing other people, has been a beautiful lesson in my life that I’m FINALLY just starting to reap the benefits of learning from it… the confidence and humility, yet true strength that comes from being secure, no matter what others say or think, no matter if I succeed or fail, but being secure because of who I am in Christ.

    Reply

  2. Proverbs 31 wanna-be
    May 22, 2015 @ 19:12:31

    Thanks for your kind words.

    And congrats on the new baby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

