I Got a Rock

“I Got A Rock”

Do you remember in the Peanuts cartoon when Charlie Brown went trick-or-treating and he got a rock?  Each time, he would sadly say,”I got a rock.”  Well, I got a Rock too, and He sure doesn’t leave me depressed!

Deut. 32:31 says that their rock is not like our Rock.
Ps. 18:2 says that the Lord is my Rock, my Fortress, and my Deliverer; my God, my keen and firm Strength in Whom I will trust and take refuge, my Shield, and the Horn of my salvation, my High Tower.  (Amp. Bible)
Ps. 62: 2, 6 says that He only is my Rock and my Salvation, my Defense and my Fortress, I shall not be greatly moved.

We all go through trials, and we need our Rock to help us in those times.  There is so much that He desires to teach us in our trials, but many times, we are not willing to take the time to listen to what He desires to teach us.  I want to share one of my big struggles, in hopes that it will encourage others out there who may struggle with the same kinds of issues.

I didn’t become a Christian until I was 19.  I am sad to say that before that, I was  promiscuous.  Those sinful acts continued to haunt me, even though I have now been saved for over 19 years.  (Yes, now you know how old I am.)
🙂  I would have lots of dreams about past relationships, built on nothing but fleshly lusts, and when I would wake up, I would feel so dirty.  I could be sitting in the sanctuary worshipping the Lord, and in an instant, a dark thought would enter my mind, reminding me of that sordid past.  It was a constant struggle.  Even though I realized that these thoughts were an attack of the enemy, and not my own thoughts, I would think of the scripture that says that you reap what you sow.  To me, I was just receiving payment for my past failures and sins.

I so desperately want to be a woman of purity, and I just saw no way for this to happen.  I even talked to my pastor’s wife about this.  She assured me that it could and would happen.  I didn’t put much thought into what she said because she “saved” herself for marriage, so how could she possibly understand the issue of purity…

There is a couple who attends my church who were expecting a baby before they got married.  Many years have past since their “failure.”  They are both heavily involved in ministry, and have been such a blessing to me.  Having watched them over the years, I am just in awe of how they have allowed the Lord to use them in spite of their mistake.  I have talked to both of them to let them know how much of a blessing that they have been to me, in spite of what they could have allowed the enemy to do them because of their past.

One night, after having talked to one of them, I was having some quiet time with the Lord.  He spoke to me and told me that I could have the same thing that they have.  That was all He said at that point.

The next day or two, I kept pondering on what the Lord spoke to me.  I knew I was close to a major breakthrough.  Then, all within a matter of a few short hours, the TV went out, the microwave quit working, the “service engine soon” light came on in the car, and I broke something else, which at this point, I don’t even remember what it was.  My tendency when things like this happen is to just go off on anything and anyone.  I have a very short fuse.  But this time, I didn’t do that – I was so focused on what God had spoken to me, that I just clung to my Rock.  I really felt that if I was to have the spiritual breakthrough in this area, I would have to crucify those fleshly ways.

Within a few days, the Lord took me to the next step.  I was reading in the Amplified Bible.  II Cor. 5:17 says, “Therefore if any person is engrafted in Christ, he is a new creation (a new creature altogether); the old (previous moral and spiritual condition) has passed away.  Behold, the fresh and new has come!”  I had read that several times before, but this time, the words seemed to leap off the page at me.  I suddenly realized, that yes, we do reap what we sow, but Jesus came to remove the curse of sin from us, and so I was indeed a new creature, no longer bound by that awful past.  I felt such freedom!  Then the neatest thing happened…..

As I began to share this with other women, they would tell me that they saw me as a woman of purity, and they couldn’t believe that I didn’t see myself as that.  Over time, I have been able to look in mirror and actually see myself as a woman of purity.  As I have begun to walk in the truth which the Rock revealed to me, the awful nightmares, flashbacks, and bad thoughts have all begun to dissipate.  You see, Satan’s biggest weapon is a lie.  I believed the lie, so he was able to use it against me in a powerful way.  And just like with Eve, he used what God had said, but he twisted it.  Now that his lie was exposed, he was disarmed – disarmed by the Rock!

Ps. 18:31 says “For who is God besides the Lord?  And who is the Rock except our God?”  (NIV)

What lies of the enemy have you bound?  Is there a scripture that runs through your mind, that could be twisted by the enemy?  Our Rock came to break the chains of bondage and to let us walk in freedom.  Not freedom to do our own thing, but freedom to do the right thing, freedom that brings us life, and life abundantly.

May you find freedom, the true freedom that Jesus wants you to walk in each, and every day.

© 2003, Stacy R Miller

Leave a Reply

