I Choose to Die

I Choose to Die

I write this devotion only six days after having seen ‘The Passion of the Christ.’  Today was ‘Communion Sunday’ at church, and I can tell you that it is my deepest prayer that every time I partake of communion, that I will be as broken before the Lord as I was today.  As we partake of communion, we are admonished to do it in remembrance of Jesus. (I Cor 11) As the images from the movie ran through my mind, I began to weep.  Just as I thought I was done crying, another wave of tears would wash over me.  To think of what Jesus went through to save me from my sin — it’s simply amazing.

In light of this fresh revelation of what my Savior did for me, what do I do now?  I now see sin in a different way.  If I think of sinning, I picture a nail being viciously hammered into the precious hand of the One who created this very earth on which I live.  I see blood spurting out of the hand of the One whose very hands fashioned me within my mother’s womb. (Ps. 139) I pray that this vision NEVER leaves me!

Thinking upon His wonderful, loving sacrifice, there’s only one thing I can do.  I choose to die.  I choose to put to death the misdeed of my body. (Rom. 8:13) I choose to die daily (I Cor. 15:31) that in the end, I might live.  This fiery temper that tries to entangle me in bondage upon bondage is dying.  I choose to nail it to the cross where my Jesus paid my debt in full, declaring that IT IS FINISHED! (Jn. 19:30)

When my flesh wants to gossip about another person, may I remember the stripes on His back, the crown of thorns on His head, and the nails in His hands and feet.  When my flesh wants to rise up instead of bowing in humble submission to my husband, may I remember the gentle submission of the Lamb of God.  When I want to defend myself against taunts, threats, or unjust criticism, may I remember my loving Lord, who never spoke a word in His own defense.  When I want to pull back and go “AWOL” from God’s army, may I remember Him who said, through tears and sweat that was like drops of blood, “Nevertheless, not my will, but YOUR will be done.”
(Lk. 22:42)

Whenever my flesh tries to rear its ugly head, may my spirit boldly cry out, “I CHOOSE TO DIE!”  What about you?  Do you choose to die?
© 2004, Stacy R Miller

Leave a Reply

