“I” Check-Up

“I” Check Up

We could probably all name someone we know who has an “I” problem.  You know the type -– they constantly toot their own horn, bragging about their new car, new house, new clothes, closing their latest business deal, or how they just got promoted to a new position.  It is really easy for us to spot the speck in someone else’s eye, but it is much harder to look and see the plank in our own eye.  (Matthew 7:3-5)

I think of the times I have thought, “I want to sleep in.  I need the rest.  I’ll read my Bible tomorrow morning.”  Or maybe my daughter wants me to play with her, but I refuse because I would rather check my email.  How many times have I gone to church, but somewhere along the line, I have copped a bad attitude, so I refuse to enter into worship?  What about the times when I have thought, “I do not want to forgive him/her.”  What about the many occasions when I knew I should refrain from eating another piece of candy, yet I ate it anyway?  What about the moments when I have selfishly spent money on myself when it could have been better spent on something else.  The list could go on, but I am not sure that my toes could handle being stepped on anymore.  How about yours?

Notice that the choices made in the above situations have all been very selfish.  Maybe you can see yourself in some of the examples.  If so, it could be that you, too, are struggling with having an “I” problem.  However, do not be discouraged!  There is a remedy for this condition in Romans 12:3.  It tells us not to think more highly of ourselves than we ought.  Instead, we should be thinking of ourselves with sober judgment.   We should think of ourselves with a serious, clearheaded awareness, realizing when we need to occasionally step back and re-evaluate our priorities.  Taking the time do to do a careful analysis of our lives will assist us in staying on the right track, as well as helping us to take on the nature of a servant, just as Jesus did.  (Philippians 2:5-7)

Do you need an “I” check?
© 2006, Stacy R. Miller

Leave a Reply

