I Can’t Hear You!

I Can’t Hear You!

Most parents find that it’s hard to let go of our children when they become more independent.  To help me feel a little more secure in letting Rachel ride her bike around the block, we use two-way radios.  If she crashes, and needs me, it’s easy for her to call for help.

One thing I’ve learned about those two-way radios is that if Rachel is trying to talk to me while I’m trying to talk to her, I can’t hear her.  I have to be careful to wait until she is finished talking before I start talking.  Otherwise, we can’t hear each other.

Have you ever known someone who was always thinking about the next thing they were going to say, rather than listening to what you were saying?  I wonder how many times we do this to the Lord.  While you are trying to listen to the Lord, you probably find yourself thinking about the dishes that need washed, the bill that needs to be paid, something you need from the grocery store, the card that needs to be sent, and the list goes on and on.  I wonder what God was trying to say when we were thinking about our to-do list.  Just when we think we can listen, we think of some other prayer request, so we begin to talk to the Lord about that one.  Again, I wonder what God was trying to say.  It’s a good idea to keep a pen and paper handy when we get alone with God so that when the to-do list comes to mind, we can jot it down, then take care of it later.

Is. 6:9 talks about people who will be ever hearing, yet not understanding.  They will be seeing and not perceiving.  Can Father say this is true of us?  Are we hearing other things instead of His voice?  Are we perceiving our own wants and desires while neglecting His wants and desires?

Father, help me to not be like the people mentioned in this verse.  Help me to have ears to hear whatever it is You have to say.  Help me to have a heart that will obey what You speak to me, no matter the cost.  Amen.

© 2003, Stacy R Miller

Leave a Reply

