Hot Flashes

Hot Flashes
As I began that wonderful process of going through menopause over a year ago, I was finding myself constantly bombarded with night sweats.  I would wake up so drenched that it would keep me awake for several hours.  A couple of friends suggested that I start taking soy.  Within three weeks of having started the soy, the night sweats had stopped and I was also sleeping much better.  Even the hot flashes during the day lessened.

Several months after having started this journey through menopause, I was looking at Rev. 3:15-16 where the Lord says that He would rather have us hot or cold.  He told the church of Laodicea that because they were lukewarm, He was about to spit them out of His mouth.  As I pondered on this scripture, I asked the Lord why He hates the state of being lukewarm.  He asked me how I felt when the soy began to work in helping me not to have so many night sweats. Words like “contented, satisfied, pleased, supplied, fulfilled, at ease” came to mind.  I was contented because I wasn’t waking every night feeling all sweaty and smelly.  I was satisfied and pleased that I was getting good rest again.  My wishes for a peaceful rest were being supplied and fulfilled.  I was at ease with going to bed; I knew that I could sleep well again.  Why did I feel this way?  Was it because of what God had done?  No, it was because I was looking to a pill to meet my needs instead of seeking the Lord to work through the pill.  I began to sing the praises of the soy which I was taking, rather than praising God for the person who was wise enough to see the benefits of soy for menopausal women.  I was becoming lukewarm (satisfied) in what was taking place.

Father asked me what I do when I am cold.  I do everything in my power to warm up (except maybe exercise!).  I will turn up the heat, put on warmer clothing, fix a warm drink, find a heavy blanket.  I won’t rest until I am able to take off the chill.  It’s the same thing when I am hot.  I won’t rest until I find something that will cool me down.  I began to get the picture.  When we are comfortable, we stop working to warm up or cool down.  We are satisfied.

It is the same in our walk with God.  When we reach a place where we are spiritually satisfied with where we are, we are in dangerous territory.  We become “self-satisfied.”  We are coming close to being spit out of His mouth.  I’m not referring to finding contentment in the place where God has called you.  I’m talking about that place where we become slackers at reading the Word.  I’m talking about where we don’t long for His presence because we are at ease with where we are.  We may have even become self-sufficient, thinking that WE are providing for all of our needs, forgetting that it is really GOD who meets our needs.

The Lord reminded me of the drenching from those night sweats.  He revealed to me that He desires for us to be drenched by His Spirit on a daily basis.  In Jn. 7:38, Jesus mentions that if we are thirsty, we need to come to Him and drink.  Streams of living water will flow from within us.  We will be drenched by drinking His water.  In Eph. 5:26, we see that Christ made the Church holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through His Word.  We see the Word “washing” here.  To be thoroughly washed, you must get drenched.  In Isaiah 58:11 it tells us that God will guide us always, satisfying (He is the one to satisfy us) our needs, even in a sun-scorched land.  He will cause us to be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.

Father, help us to look to You daily for the drenching that comes from Your Spirit.  There is so much around me, trying to seize my focus from You on a daily basis.  Help me to be faithful to hide Your Word in my heart so that I might not sin against You.  Help me to depend on You, to submit to Your will every moment of every day.  Holy Spirit, I need you desperately.  Drench me so that my spirit will be saturated with Your presence.  Drench me so that my spirit won’t become parched, barren, unproductive, dehydrated, or withered.  Let me be like the tree planted by streams of water that is able to yield precious fruit.  Amen.
© 2003, Stacy R Miller

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. terrinida2015
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 13:37:53

    First of all, I love the name of your blog! I just had to stop and read your post when I saw it was entitled hot flashes! Thank you for making me smile and think about something spiritual at the same time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

