Hide and Seek

Hide and Seek

Children seem to revel in playing hide and seek.  They find such pleasure in this game.  We, as adults, often play hide and seek, but we don’t do it because it’s fun.  In fact, it is an often painful “game” which we play.   We do it because we are trying to hide our hurt feelings, our anger, our fears, our failing marriage, physical or emotional abuse, our sin, and the list could go on and on.  What do you hide behind?  Many times it can be the big things, but sometimes it’s the “little” things that can cause us to hide.  You know, those nagging little things like envy of a friend’s nicer, bigger home, or anger at being treated unfairly, or the jealousy of a friend who has a prestigious job and gets to wear nice clothes all the time……

You may think that you are hiding things very well, but God says:

“For the ways of man are directly before the eyes of the Lord, and He carefully weighs all man’s goings.”  Prov. 5:21 Amp. Bible
Ps. 139:2-3 says that God knows when we sit or stand.  God understands our thoughts from afar.  He sifts and searches out our paths and our lying down, and He’s acquainted with all of our ways.
Ps. 139:7 “Where could I go from Your Spirit?  Or where could I flee from Your presence?”  Amp. Bible
Luke 12:2 says that nothing is so closely hidden that it won’t be revealed.
Jer. 23:24 “Can anyone hide himself in secret places so that I cannot see him?”  Amp. Bible

Let’s look at some people in scripture who played “Hide and Seek.”  The first game of hide and seek was in Genesis with Adam and Eve. (Gen. 3:10)   The sin which they tried to hide ended up getting them kicked out of the garden of Eden.

Jonah also felt the need to play this game.  (Jonah 1:3-4)  Where did it get him?  He was in the belly of a fish for 3 days and nights.  I was pondering on this the other day, after my husband and daughter went through a bout with the stomach flu.  When you have the flu, you get to the point where you are just vomiting bile, and not only does it taste bad, but it SMELLS AWFUL!!!  That sick smell just seems to linger if you don’t work hard to clean everything.  Imagine what Jonah went through, living amongst the bile of a fish, and for 3 days!!  YUCK!!!!  Sin will surely take you places where you DON’T want to go!

David committed adultery with Bathsheba and went so far as to have her husband killed on the front lines.  He thought that he had done a good job of covering up for his wrong doing, that is, until Nathan the prophet approached him.   Num. 32:23 says to be sure that your sin will find you out.

Hagar ended up running away from Sarah after Sarah “dealt severely with her, humbling and afflicting her.”  Gen. 16:6 (Amp. Bible)  In verse 8, God said to Hagar, “Where did you come from, and where are you intending to go?”  It ended up that Hagar called God El Roi – “the One who sees.”  Gen. 16:13  Even when she tried to hide, God still saw her.

If you trying to play your own game of “Hide and Seek,” I promise you that you won’t win.  Sometimes it is so hard to admit those things which we hide behind.  I know, I’ve been there, and unfortunately, I’ve played this game more than once or twice.  I remember a time when someone at church kept showing me their baby and telling me that I needed one of my own.  I didn’t realize it at the time, but I let a stronghold of anger and bitterness develop over it.  I had some serious back trouble at the time which made pregnancy seem like an impossibility for me, not to mention that I had chronic colitis, and was on 6-8 pills a day.  That sure wasn’t a conducive environment to a pregnancy.  (God has since delivered me of the chronic colitis, and maybe one of these times I will share that AWESOME experience.)  It was so bad that God had to remove me from that particular church for a while so that he could get me away from the situation.  For the longest time, I blamed it on the pastor.  “I wasn’t getting fed.”  Ever hear those famous words?  Eventually, I was to the place where God uncovered that “hidden place” in my heart, and I dealt with it, and was very quickly back into my original church.  I have no anger or resentment toward the person who originally offended me.  I can now see her as a very dear sister in the Lord.

If you are playing the “game,” please pray for God to reveal to you what is in your heart, mind, soul, and spirit that isn’t pleasing to Him.  Allow Him to show you where you aren’t clearly seeing things which need to be corrected.  Pray for Him to strip down the walls of arrogance and  fear, and to expose you to yourself.  (That can be scary, but well worth it!)  Pray for Him to give you the desire and strength to correct the error of your ways.  Pray for Him to help you to replace any lies of the enemy with the truth of His Word.

Psalm 32:3-4 “When I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long.  For day and night your hand was heavy upon me, my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer.”  (NIV)
Ps. 38:3-5 “Because of your wrath there is no health in my body; my bones have no soundness because of my sin.  My guilt has overwhelmed me like a burden too heavy to bear.  My wounds fester and are loathsome because of my sinful folly.  (NIV)  Life is hard enough without adding to the burden by trying to play “Hide and Seek” when there is no way that we will ever win.

When you confess your sin, it’s not like you are telling God something that is going to shock Him, or make Him turn away from you.  He all ready knows about it.  Confession is just admitting to God what He all ready knows, and agreeing with Him that what you did is wrong.  Then comes repentance – truly being sorry to the point of grief, and turning away from it.  I know in my own walk, I can repent, but then I find myself doing the same thing, even though my intention was to truly turn away from it.  When we repent of something it doesn’t mean that we won’t ever commit that sin again.  It simply means that we don’t INTEND to ever commit that sin again.  Anytime we sin, we need to quickly repent so that the death process which has been set into motion will be stopped; for we know that the “wages of sin is death.”  Rom. 6:23.

Prov. 28:13 I am paraphrasing here:  She who continues to play “Hide and Seek” will not prosper, but she who confesses and renounces the game will find mercy from her Lord.

Acts 3:19 paraphrasing again:  Quit playing “Hide and Seek” so that your sins may be blotted out, then will come times of refreshing in the presence of the Lord.

My sisters, time is too short to be playing games in any way with our spiritual walk.  Let’s be diligent in making sure that we are keeping our garments spotless so that we can be unashamed when Jesus comes to take us to that glorious marriage supper of the Lamb.

© 2003, Stacy R Miller

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Arlene Harper
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 15:46:23

    Like the way you write dear friend. Need to be mindful of how I spend my time. And what thoughts I dwell upon.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

