Go Ask God, part 2

Go Ask God
Part 2

I have always thought of John the Baptist as a bold man, full of spiritual strength, but we find in Mt. 11:2-3 that he sent his disciples to ask if Jesus was the one who was to come or if they should expect someone else.  Even this mighty man of God had doubts.  In those doubts, he questioned the Lord.

The disciples even had a lot of questions.  In Mt. 18:1 they asked Jesus who was the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.  In verse 21, Peter asks the Lord how many times they should forgive someone.  After hearing Jesus say that it’s easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for the rich to enter into the kingdom of heaven, the disciples ask him, “Who then can be saved?”  Mt. 19:25 (NIV) In Mt. 24, they ask Jesus about the signs of the end times.  When out on a boat, in a frightful storm, they ask Jesus, “Don’t you care if we drown?” Mk 4:38 (NIV)

In II Cor. 12:7-10 we find where Paul had been given a thorn in the flesh.  He pleaded with God three times to take it away.  I would imagine that he had questions of his own for God when asking for it to be removed.  When God answered him by telling Paul that His grace was sufficient, Paul saw that he could delight in weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, in difficulties because when Paul was weak, then his Christ made him strong.  May we find that in our own weaknesses, our loving Christ can give us a strength to endure to the end.

One last example is in Mt. 27:46 when our precious Savior asked of His heavenly Father, “My God, My God, why have You forsaken me?”  (NIV)  Even our Lord experienced a depth of loneliness that we will never have to face.  He was actually separated from the loving presence of His Father.  Because of that separation, we find in Rom. 8:38-39 these comforting words:  “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angel nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  (NIV)  We will NEVER face the intense despair that our Christ felt while on that cross.

In those times when you have questions, go ask God.  For years I was afraid to question God on anything because I heard an erroneous teaching about ever questioning God.  I have learned in the last several years that God will often answer my questions.  Maybe it’s not the answer that I was looking for, but His answer always brings clarity and/or peace of mind to me.  I have learned to go boldly to His throne because I have a high priest who is able to sympathize with me in my weakness and in my questions because He even had a question of His own when He was bearing the weight of my sin.  Heb. 4:14-16.

© 2003, Stacy R Miller

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brian L. Knack
    Nov 09, 2014 @ 07:20:52

    This is really good. God is our Father but he is not like many earthly Fathers. Our questions and doubts do not surprise or dissuade Him. He can handle them. Like you said, sometimes the answers are not what we wanted to hear.

    Thank you for linking to my post, “Jesus is My Savior, Not My Religion”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

