Contentment

Contentment

 

Do you ever have trouble being content? It seems we can always find something else that we think will bring added comfort and contentment to our lives. Perhaps it’s a new car, a new home, a new wardrobe, children who excel at everything, more money, less hours at the office, and the list goes on.

 

In Philippians 4:11, Paul states that he has learned to be content, whatever the circumstances.

 

In the Greek, the word “learned” refers to what we have gleaned from our experiences and tribulations. It isn’t referring to just our book knowledge of the Word. Rather, it refers to a knowledge that comes from the growth we gain through our experiences, circumstances, and trials.

 

Seeing it in this light has caused me to reflect on my own life experiences, seeking to find the golden nuggets I’ve gained through the good times and the bad. I want to share some of them with you, as a way to get you thinking about your own life, in hopes that it will help you discover your own treasures through life’s experiences.

 

  • Miscarriage – developed a deep sense of compassion and mercy in me.
  • Struggling with anger – helped me to be less judgmental toward others who also experience it.
  • Asthma – God allowed me to experience severe asthma for a couple of years, then miraculously healed me, giving me an incredible testimony I can share with others to encourage them.
  • The sudden death of my brother – I experienced God’s mercy in a whole new way through this tragic loss.

 

What treasures can you discover that can be used to help others?

© 2014, Stacy R. Miller

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Arlene Harper
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 15:52:36

    Needed this today. Feeling down and lonely. Moving to a new area and trying to connect has been hard for me this time around. Thanks for the encouraging words. Now to get it from my brain into my heart. Love, Arlene

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

