Demolition Crew

Demolition Crew

 

A friend of mine recently moved into a new home. When we would see each other, she would give me an update on what phase they had reached with the construction. Though there were several men working on the house, in order to get it done quickly, it still took several weeks to be completed.

 

Several years ago, I had the opportunity to watch a house as it was demolished. It was done within a couple of hours. What a difference from watching a house being built!

Our words can be like a demolition crew. Research shows that it takes ten positive comments to overcome one negative one. Oh, the power of the tongue! Proverbs 18:21 tells us our tongue holds the power of life and death.

 

When home schooling my daughter, I could see the daily impact of my words on her. I had to be very careful how I said things to her when she would struggle with a new concept. If I was insensitive and critical, she would wilt emotionally.

 

When my daughter was much younger, I would reward her for a good job with stickers. As she got older, I would add words of encouragement on her papers. It was amazing to watch how those actions could set the tone for the rest of the day!

 

I have tried to make it a rule that if I can say anything nice, do it! It can make a huge impact on someone’s day to hear a word of praise, appreciation, or encouragement. The older I get, the easier it has become to release those kind words. I used to see someone and think, “She is so pretty,” or “She has a beautiful smile.” Now those words flow freely, and it is such a pleasure to watch the expressions on their faces when they hear something so positive and encouraging.

 

Losing my brother to a heart attack has been an impetus for me, motivating me to make more phone calls and send notes of appreciation to people who have been instrumental in my life. We have probably all lost a friend or loved one and had the thought, “Oh how I wish I would have told them _____!” I don’t want to leave those words unsaid!

 

Let’s strive to be like the building crew – building a strong foundation with our words, as opposed to the demolition crew who can destroy months of work in a matter of minutes.

 

© 2014, Stacy R.Miller

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Arlene Harper
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 12:10:18

    You certainly have been an encouragement to me and I thank God for our friendship. Pleas pray for Deyki. He is in the hospital. Pray for wisdom for Cathy and the doctors. Love you dear friend!!!!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

  2. Noelene
    Oct 20, 2014 @ 12:27:48

    Okay, now I understand your response to my blog ‘sticks and stones’!!
    Our words certainly can ‘demolish’ or ‘build up’.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

