A Differing Kind of Fasting

A Different Kind of Fasting

 

Proverbs is my favorite book of the Bible for the wealth of practical insights and knowledge that it offers. I have to admit that I can be a bit intimidated when I read the section on the virtuous woman. There is one verse in particular that really gets me. It’s the one about her words. In the Message Bible, it says, “When she speaks she has something worthwhile to say, and she says it kindly.” It’s that first word that gets me: “when.” The implication is that she isn’t always talking. This causes problems for me because…well….I’m a talker!!!

 

After a long day at work, I come home, and I need to talk about my day to de-stress. However, my daughter, who works in a daycare with 23 children in her class, will come home and retreat to her bedroom. Once she has had some time to unwind, she will come out and share bits and pieces of her day. It may take her five minutes to tell us about her day. In contrast, it may take me at least twenty minutes to talk about mine.

 

One day, as I was pondering on this portion of scripture, it occurred to me that we can do a different kind of fast. Normally, when we fast, we refrain from putting food into our mouth. A new kind of fast could be to refrain from letting bad words come out of our mouth. I’m not just talking about cuss words. I’m referring to a fast where we don’t gossip, don’t let unwholesome, corrupt speech escape our lips, and we stop negative words from gushing forth from our mouth. If we make a conscious decision to fast from the wrong words, and we invite the Lord to help us do so, I have a feeling people will see an elegant grace develop within us. We will slowly become much more like the virtuous woman!

 

© 2014, Stacy R. Miller

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Arlene Harper
    Oct 15, 2014 @ 13:24:54

    Good one. I passed it on to a couple of friends.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

