Do Not Disturb

o Not Disturb

 

How many times do we put a “Do Not Disturb” sign on our hearts?  For some reason, it seems that we are afraid to let Father into certain places in our hearts.  Is it because we are wanting to cherish a certain sin, hold onto a bad attitude, or refusing to forgive someone from a past hurt that wounded us so deeply?  Do we somehow think that if we don’t allow God to visit those places that He can’t see them?  Whatever the reason, we may feel like we can’t let God go into those dark places, but what does it cause when we refuse to allow Him access to those places?

 

Prov. 15:13 says that heartache crushes the spirit.  When we close off certain parts of our heart, no matter the reason, it will cause our spirit to be crushed.

Ps. 38:18  says that I confess my sin, and I am troubled by it.  Many times we may use an excuse, saying, “I’m not angry, I’m just hurt.”  We try to convince ourselves that we haven’t sinned, but if we are harboring something inside us, many times, it does lead us into sin.  It may be the sin of unforgiveness or even the sin of gossip.  How many times does someone really hurt us, and instead of turning to God (the true heart healer), we call all of our girlfriends and begin telling them how awful this person was to us?  What does that do to the other person’s reputation?  What does it do to us?

 

As I was looking up scriptures to use in this message, I came across a rather interesting verse in I Sam. 10:22.  It says that He has hidden himself among the baggage.  How often do we find ourselves hidden among our own baggage from the past?  We don’t feel like we can truly be the real “us” because we are so burdened with things from the past.

 

Sometimes it is very painful to let God come into those hidden places.  I remember a time when I let God into one of my “hidden places.” It was incredibly painful because I had to revisit some things from my past that I didn’t want to think about ever again.  In the process of letting that two-edged sword of the Word penetrate my heart and my spirit, God brought awesome cleansing and healing to me in that area.  Yes, it hurt, and it hurt really bad.  Was it worth it?  YOU BET IT WAS!

 

Prov. 4:23 tells us to guard our hearts above all else because the heart is the wellspring of life.  We tend to get so busy with daily cares that it is very easy for something that isn’t good and holy to take root in our hearts.  Jer. 17:9 says that the heart is deceitful and desperately wicked.  If I don’t take the time to get before the Lord and allow Him to show me anything bad that has taken root in my heart, it’s no time at all before I feel like all of my spiritual strength has been zapped from me.

 

Heb. 3:13 tells us to encourage one another daily so that we won’t be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.  Not that we need to unload all of our cares on people every time we see them, but most of us probably have a good friend who can just look at our countenance and tell that something is going on.  We may not even see it when we look in the mirror, but those dear friends have a way of bringing it to the surface for us.  Thank God for friends who love us enough to confront us on issues where we would rather not go!

 

Here’s what can happen when we let God remove the “Do Not Disturb” sign.  Ps. 51:10 He can create a pure heart and renew a steadfast spirit in us.

Ps. 66:18-19 When we confess our sin to Him, He listens to us.  – He’s not out to condemn us, but to renew that intimate fellowship once again.  The accuser of the brethren is the only one who seeks to bring condemnation to us.

As we learn that we can easily bring ANYTHING to Father, we will become much more intimate in our fellowship with Him.  Ps. 73:26 says that my heart and flesh may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.  This scripture became very real to me as I recently went through a long, hard struggle – one that started about nine months ago.  I faced some major battles while going through the trial because there were many times when I didn’t feel that certain people wanted to be bothered with it, or to address the issue.  Like the persistent widow, who continued to go before the judge, I wouldn’t let up in this fight.  I learned to lean on Father in a way that I never have before.  The fellowship we shared was so sweet and so intimate.  I remember one day, while I was doing an in-depth Bible study on the tabernacle, I was learning some awesome things, and it was like Father was sitting right there at the table with me.  He stopped me from going any further and began clearly telling me how that particular lesson fit right in with what I was experiencing.  I had been in tears of hopelessness and fatigue earlier that morning, but His words were life to my wounded spirit.

 

There was another day when I just felt that I couldn’t go on in the battle.  I was facing some persecution for my stand on a very important issue, and the persecution was coming from some of my own church family.  Now THAT was REALLY hard to bear.  While I was cleaning the house one day, Father was right there with me, and we had a very long two-way conversation about the situation.  Before the end of the day, I was filled with joy and my strength was incredibly renewed.

 

Now, you may wonder what this has to do with a “Do Not Disturb” sign.  Well, in the process of going through this trial, let me tell you – I wasn’t always so holy in my words or actions!  I had my moments when I was raging mad, and times when I talked about the situation in a not-so-nice-way.  While there were times that I did need to talk about it, looking for some direction, there were times that the talking turned to gossip and angry, bitter words.  Instead of putting the “sign” up over my heart, I noticed that the close fellowship with Father was waning.  Ps. 26:2 says to test me and try me, Lord.  Examine my heart and my mind.  I did just that, and Father was faithful to show me where I had gone wrong.  I quickly got back on track.  After having had those awesome intimate moments with Him, I was hooked!  I didn’t want ANYTHING stopping me from having those times with my Father!

 

If you have put up the “sign” on your heart, and want Father to take it down,  I pray that the God of hope would fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.  (Rom. 15:13)  May your love abound more and more and extend to its fullest development in knowledge and all keen insight so that you may surely learn to sense what is vital and prize what is excellent and of real value, recognizing the highest and the best, and distinguishing the moral differences.  I pray that you would be untainted and pure, unerring and blameless as you approach the day of Christ.  (Phil. 1:9-10)

 

Remember that we are being transformed into HIS likeness with ever increasing glory which comes from the Lord.  II Cor 3:18

 

I guess what we really need to do is give up putting up a “Do Not Disturb” sign for the Lord, and instead, put up a “Do Not Enter” sign for Satan.

 

© 2003, Stacy R Miller

 

Leave a Reply

