Divided Loyalties

Divided Loyalties

 

As Christian women, we wear many titles.  In fact, the list can often seem endless.  Child of God, wife, mother, nurse, secretary, inventory manager, answering service, housekeeper, laundry attendant, chauffeur, and so on.  With so many things calling for our attention, we can find it very hard to keep the Lord our top priority, loving Him with all our heart, soul, mind, and strength.

 

Psalm 119:113 talks of hating those who have divided loyalties. (NLT) That really struck a chord with me because I could clearly see myself in that verse.  How many times have I given myself over to “doing” for God instead of cultivating my relationship with Him?

 

A wife whose husband is always working is going to feel neglected before too long.  To her, love is more than just “doing” things for the person all the time.  It involves spending time with each other and communicating.

 

How often have I neglected the Lord because I felt my “doing” for Him was the same as loving Him?  When I do that, I have divided loyalties.  I say I love Him, but choose my busy-ness over spending time with Him.  God wants us to seek Him first in all that we do.  I have found that by doing so, not only does my stress level drop immensely, but I am able to stay focused.  Even while going from chore to chore, my mind stays more focused on Him.  As there is a break in one area, I am better able to focus on the next task at hand, rather than get distracted with things which will waste my time and energy.

 

Recently, I took a Sabbatical from an activity I really enjoy so that I could regain my focus.  I was amazed at the difference!  After spending my quiet time with the Lord, I was able to get all of our homeschooling done, finish chores, go swimming with my daughter, work on a class I plan to teach at church, plus write a devotion.  Had I not committed my day to Him and earnestly listened to His leading, my heart would have been given to divided loyalties once again.  While I am only sharing one day’s activities here, I can assure you that since I have really been working to readjust my focus, I have had several days where I have been astounded at all I was able to accomplish.

 

What causes you to have divided loyalties?  What can you do this day to make some changes?

© 2007, Stacy R Miller

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Levi Thetford
    May 22, 2014 @ 05:57:20

    I have really enjoyed your Proverb 31 studies, thoughts. The chapter has always been my wife’s ideal to pursue. Thanks!!

    Reply

  2. Proverbs 31 wanna-be
    May 26, 2014 @ 10:58:49

    Levi, thanks for your kind comments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

