Cross Dressing

Matt Smith

Cross Dressing

When my daughter was just ten years old, we had the unfortunate experience of running into a drunken cross-dresser one day.  I really did not care to have her exposed to this kind of lifestyle at such a young age.  To complicate matters even more, I had to explain to her why this man who attends our church is dressed like a lady.

After returning home, the Lord revealed to me that all Christians, at one time or another, have been guilty of being cross-dressers.  The difference is that our cross-dressing does not affect our clothing, but our spirit.

Christians are commanded to put on garments of compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, patience, and love. (Colossians 3:12-14)

As I read that verse, I began to think of the many times my husband has needed a compassionate, listening ear.  Instead, I dressed myself in a garment that said, “I am too busy to listen to you right now.”

How many times have we been in a long line at the grocery store, only to offer the cashier rudeness instead of kindness?

Instead of putting on humility, we choose a prideful garment.  Even though we many not be speaking our prideful thoughts audibly, God hears, and He is not pleased. (Proverbs 8:13; First Peter 5:5)

I can think of several times when my daughter has struggled with a new concept in school.  As her teacher, and even more so, as a Christian, I should offer her gentleness.  Instead, I put on harshness or a critical spirit.

When we are trying to get out the door, and the rest of the family is poking along, how often are we patient with them?  If we are honest, most of us would be embarrassed to admit how often we put on the garment of impatience.

Patience seems to be one of those garments that we would rather not wear.  It seems to fit about as comfortably as a tight-fitting girdle.  Instead, we opt for impatience, which often shows itself through anger, rudeness, rage, foul language, and very discernible body language.

We are to be dressed in love, yet how do we act when a dirty, smelly person visits our church?  Do we put on the garment of love?  Or do we turn aside, pretending they are not there?

When we get dressed, we may look through our closet and think, “I do not feel like wearing this outfit today.”  I think we also do this with the garment of love.  We tend to think that love is a feeling.  If we do not feel like wearing it, we will tend to put on bitterness, anger, unforgiveness, rudeness, selfishness, and a critical spirit.

I was really disgusted by the sight of the drunken cross-dresser.  However, after allowing the Holy Spirit to show me many occasions where I have guilty of cross-dressing, I am more disgusted with my own behavior.

Father, help me to daily put on the Lord Jesus so that I can cease to be a cross-dresser.  Amen. (Romans 13:14)

© 2007, Stacy R. Miller

Enhanced by Zemanta
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. secretangel
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 18:36:21

    Beautiful. Thanks for sharing and opening our eyes… Blessings to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

