Proverbs 31:15

Proverbs 31:15

 

CEV: She gets up before daylight to prepare food for her family and for her servants (or to tell her servants what to do).

AMP: She rises while it’s yet night and gets (spiritual) food for her household and assigns her maids their task.

MSG: She gets up before dawn, preparing breakfast for her family and organizing her day.

I like what the Amplified verse says because it speaks of getting spiritual food for her household.  Before she gives out spiritual food, she has to have some within in her, leaving me with the impression that she lived her life by Job. 23:12, esteeming the words from His mouth as more important than even her food.  She arose early, knowing that her day would be very busy, and she spent time with her Lord.  Because she gave Him the firstfruits of her day, He developed a very strong, moral character within her.  She showed by example that she had a willing heart, ready to be changed and molded by the Lord.

The Message Bible mentions that she organizes her day.  It is so important to have a plan.  If we don’t, we tend to go haphazardly through our day, and at the end of it, we feel like we were spinning our wheels, and going absolutely nowhere.

For me, my best time for organizing is the night before.  I get out the nonperishable items for the next evening’s meal.  I check the menu to see how much ‘prep’ time I need to allow.  If I will be using the crock pot, I set it out the night before.  If there is laundry to start in the morning, I will often separate it into piles.  I always have my clothes laid out for the next day.  Doing these little things keeps me from getting so distracted in the morning when I spend time with the Father.

In the CEV, it mentions her servants.  I have many servants, and I am SO thankful for their help.  Their names are washer, dryer, microwave, automobile, and refrigerator.  You may not think of your refrigerator as being a servant, but back in the days when the Proverbs 31 lady lived, they often had to go to the market everyday.  If they didn’t go to the market, then they would at least have to be working in the garden or milking the cows or goats so they would have food and drink.  Because of having a deep freezer and my refrigerator, I don’t have to be running to the market nearly every day.  My ‘servants’ drastically lighten my load so that I can do other things.

In fixing breakfast, I have made it a habit to take time to sit down and read a devotional to Rachel that is geared for her age.  Then, we sit there and discuss it.  While she it getting her physical nourishment, she is also receiving her spiritual food.

© 2004, Stacy R. Miller

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

