Proverbs 31:12

Proverbs 31:12

CEV: She is good to him every day of her life.

AMP: She comforts, encourages, and does him only good as long as there is life in her.

MSG: Never spiteful, she treats him generously all her life long.

I have made it my motto to ask myself everyday ‘How can I do my husband good today?’ Sometimes I will ask him if there is anything I can do to help him.  Sometimes it’s as simple as picking up an item from the store or running to the bank for him.  Another practical way of helping him is by taking on the monthly balancing of our checking accounts.  He hates to do it, and since I used to be a bank teller, it’s an easy task for me.  (Well, provided that he remembers to write down every check!) 

One time I noticed that the dryer was needing to be pulled out from the wall and cleaned really well.  Since Dean was working fifteen hour days, I didn’t feel right about mentioning it to him.  One day, I got brave and decided to try and tackle this unpleasant job myself.  I was so pleased when I was finished!  I took great pleasure that evening in telling him what I had managed to accomplish that day, and I could tell he was pleased, as well.   

Often, when I ask how I can help, he will ask me to pray for him.  He is depending on ME to pray for him.  He’s not asking the church, he’s not asking his mother, but he is asking ME to pray for him.  I can’t stress enough how important this is.  The time that really sticks out in my mind is when I was pregnant. I felt an intense need to pray for his safety.  The next day, he fell twelve feet off of a ladder, landing on his back.  Other than being very sore for many weeks, he had no serious injuries.  A dear sister told me one time that she has no doubt that my prayers spared his life.  Had I not prayed, I believe that I would have delivered my daughter, only two weeks later, as a widow. 

One year, I looked diligently for bargains to use for Christmas gifts.  I was able to buy $220 worth of items, and I paid less than $25 for all of it.  I never said anything to him that I was doing this.  I waited until he moaned about coming up with the money for Christmas.  What fun it was to be able to say: “It is bought AND paid for!”

One of the best ways I think we can help our husbands is by getting the book The Power of a Praying Wife.  I often use that book during my devotional time.  It is loaded with scripturally-based prayers, and praying God’s Word is very powerful.  Our husbands are to be #1 on our priority list (after God, of course), so shouldn’t we make him #1 on our prayer list?

The verse in the Amplified Bible mentions comforting and encouraging him.  A lady I know sends her husband off to work with a kiss, and these words: “God’s favor and success go with you.”  Find ways to bless and encourage him.  Call his office before he even arrives, and leave messages for him.  Put a love note in his car, where he will see it as he leaves in the morning.  When my husband had a beeper, we had a code that I would use.  If he saw a ‘3’ pop up, he knew that it meant, ‘I love you.’  If he got a message that said, ‘545’ or ‘615,’ he knew that I was telling him that supper would be ready at either 5:45 or 6:15.  Giving him some advance notice would help him to know when to wrap things up for the day so that he could join us at the dinner table.

Many times in the evening, we are tired, but it’s important to be there for our husband.  If he needs comforting because of how hard things were at work, we need to work hard to affirm him.  Men tend to see their worth as having to do with their occupation.  We can affirm them apart from their job.

One mistake we often make in affirming our husband is by focusing on his tender qualities.  While it’s wonderful for our husband to be tender and sensitive, he needs to know that we appreciate his masculinity.  Try complimenting something about his body, and watch him puff up like a proud peacock does when his feathers are displayed!

As a virtuous woman, we should seek opportunities to do him good, living our lives to love him, not in word only, but in deed.  This is our God-given task, and we should delight in doing it.  No one else is called to do him good.  God has given that assignment to US!  What a ministry!

© 2004, Stacy R. Miller

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. livingmyportion
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 08:07:30

    Thank you for this beautiful reminder of how to be a help to our husbands. I have read The Power of a Praying Wife; definitely worth the read. Your post has inspired me to pull it off the shelf and pick an area a week to be specifically praying for my hubby. Thanks again and God bless!

    Reply

    • Proverbs 31 wanna-be
      Jan 24, 2014 @ 08:47:02

      Thanks for your kind words. Yes, it is a good thing to occasionally pull out those books for a reminder and to motivate us once again. Without those reminders, it’s too easy to get a bit lazy.

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Yesterday’s Miracle – I could have been a widow today. | Proverbs 31 Wanna-be
  3. Trackback: Yesterday’s Miracle — I could have been a widow. | My Frugal Life

Leave a Reply

