Asthma testimony

My brother bought me a book called A Place Called Heaven.  It is a story about a man who died in a car crash many years, went to heaven, then was sent back.  It is a beautiful and amazing story.  There was one part in it that really stuck with me and I just have to share it with you in case it resonates with you.

 

When Gary (the author) got to heaven, a friend of his met him and was showing him around.  They came upon a room that had all kinds of body parts (arms, legs, eyes, etc.)  Gary was a bit shocked at the sight, so he asked what it was for.  His friend described it as a spare parts room.  So if someone needed something new for their body, they could pray, and God would send an angel to deliver it.  However, as Gary watched an angel take a part off the shelf and head to earth, he saw the angel battling principalities and powers.  Next, he heard the voice of the person who had prayed for this body part.  They were speaking doubt and unbelief.  This caused the angel to come back to heaven and sadly take the body part to the unclaimed blessings room.  And this goes right along with James 1:6-7 where it says,  ”But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord.”

Immediately upon reading this, my spirit got very excited.  In reading this section of the book, the author pointed out that when Jesus was upon the earth, there was never a time where He refused to heal someone who asked to be healed.  All the more reason for me to get excited!  Matthew 7:7-11 confirms this.  7 “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 8 For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.

9 “Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? 11 If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!

I began to think, “I want new lungs!  I don’t want to deal with the asthma anymore!”  It changed how I pray.  I told the Lord exactly what I wanted and everyday, as I prayed, I let Him know that I was anxiously awaiting my new lungs, and I thanked Him that they were on their way.  In a matter of days, I noticed a big change in how I felt.  I started using my inhalers a lot less.

Within four days, I was completely off the inhalers.  This was HUGE because I was using two different inhalers a total of six times a day!  During the course of developing the asthma, I also began suffering from food allergies.  Milk would cause an anaphylactic reaction.  Eggs would cause me to have a huge asthma attack.  I also began to notice that wheat would cause breathing issues as well.  However, after having my faith greatly increased by realizing the truths in the book I had read, I decided to believe for the Lord to deliver me from the food allergies as well.  And guess what?  HE DID!!!

I used to deal with extreme chest pain whenever the weather turned really cold or windy.  Not anymore!  Whenever the barometer would fall, my chest would hurt so badly that it would often bring me to tears.  Not anymore!

The last day I used an inhaler was January 4, 2011.

So, what do you need?  Ask for it, and believe God will send it your way!  Grab hold of the horns on the altar, and don’t let go!  Don’t begin to confess doubt and unbelief.  Have faith!  And remember that Hebrews 11:1 describes faith as being sure of the things we hope for and knowing that something is real even if we do not see it.  Keep believing, even when you don’t see it.

Leave a Reply

