Are You Bruised?

p31button.jpg

Are You Balanced?

“I want you to get out there and walk – better yet, run! – on the road God called you to travel. I don’t want any of you sitting around on your hands. I don’t want anyone strolling off, down some path that goes nowhere. And mark that you do this with humility and discipline – not in fits and starts, but steadily, pouring yourselves out for each other in acts of love, alert at noticing differences and quick at mending fences.” Eph. 4:1-3 (Message Bible)

I have heard different runners mention that when running a marathon, they reach a point where they just don’t think they can go any more. The key is pushing themselves past that mental and physical brick wall, and keep running. Many have testified to getting a second wind shortly after this happens. The sudden surge of energy gives them the much-needed stamina to make it to the finish line.

The above verse mentions that we must be disciplined, not given to “fits and starts.” With having hypoglycemia, I can testify to the benefits of being disciplined. If I stay on course and eat proper meals throughout the day, I can continue on track with the day’s agenda. Some mornings I may wake up and be hit with a “cleaning attack.” I want to tear into the house, taking a break only long enough to get a drink. If I don’t listen to my body, I won’t take time for my midmorning snack. The results are disastrous. I get very crabby, short-fused, disoriented, confused, tired, and am easily moved to tears. My energy has disappeared, and it won’t be easy to recapture it. What had started out being a very productive day has become a day where I am spending a lot of time trying to balance my sugar, not to mention finding the time to take a much-needed nap. In these times, I find it very easy to spew unkind, ugly words. Then I must repent to those who I have wounded with my mouth, and also repent to the Lord for my unkind words, not to mention for abusing my temple and not keeping it in balance.

In our spiritual walk, it’s the same. When we get too focused on our own agenda instead of listening to see what God’s agenda is, we can quickly be zapped of any spiritual zeal. If we don’t take the time to partake of the meat of God’s Word, thereby keeping ourselves balanced, we will find ourselves falling into carnal habits. You can only give out what you put into yourself. Too often we try to continue doing good things, but we have no spiritual fuel left in us.

Some of the results of not staying spiritually balanced are putting our focus on things instead of people, focusing on the to-do list rather than on “do unto others.” We will stray down wrong paths, following our emotions instead of using godly wisdom in our decisions. Instead of mending fences, we go about breaking them because we have failed to let God’s love flow through us. We find that our spiritual fervor is waning. We may even find ourselves lonely – lonely for God’s presence, yet we try to fill the void with food, shopping, fellowship, the Internet, watching TV, and numerous other vain pursuits.

It’s time to come back to rest and repentance. We need to sit down and eat at the Father’s table again. He’s holding out an invitation to you to come and dine. What are you going to do with it?
© 2003, Stacy R. Miller

Leave a Reply

