Adorable Me

p31button.jpg

Adorable Me

Idolatry – none of us want to admit that we struggle with this ugly sin.  Yet, when I checked the definition of it, it is clear that many of us will struggle with it at some point in our lives.  Idolatry can be the worship of idols.  It can also be an excessive devotion to, or extreme reverence for a person, in the sense that you adore them.  As I was pondering on this, it dawned on me that the very word ‘idolatry’ starts with the letter “i.”  If that isn’t convicting enough, First Samuel 15:22 tells us that arrogance is like idolatry.

I began to think of how many times I have been arrogant when I was proven correct about an issue.  But what about the times that I am so arrogant that I do not see the need to take the time to read my Bible?  Have I forgotten that apart from Christ, I can do nothing? (John 15:5)

My actions are saying that I adore my schedule more than my Lord.  In so many words, I am saying, “I choose adorable me.”

Sometimes we are tempted to refuse to take care of our home in a manner that honors God and shows respect to our husband.  Other times, we are enticed to read the exciting climax to a great book when we know we should be reaching out to someone who is hurting.  When our children are constantly demanding our attention, we may even be inclined to yell, “But what about me?”

To help us stop the cycle of the ‘adorable me’ syndrome, we need to ask the Lord to turn our eyes from worthless things and help us to find our delight in His ways. (Psalm 119:35, 37)  We need to seek first God’s kingdom and His righteousness, loving Him with all of our heart, mind, and soul.  (Matthew 6:33; 22:37)

Lord, there are many temptations out there, luring me to choose ‘adorable me’ in place of Thee.  Incline my heart to walk in Your ways, delighting in You the rest of my days.

© 2006, Stacy R. Miller

Leave a Reply

